University of National Excellence


Three universities – including the University of Debrecen – received the special certification.

According to the decision of the government the three largest and most outstanding universities; University of Debrecen, Eötvös Loránd University and the University of Szeged deserved the certification of excellence.

– In fact, by winning this prestigious title it is declared that these three universities are the most prominent. This approval is the continuation of a process to which each citizen of the university contributed. The applicants to this institution can be confident that they would continue their studies in a stable; well functioning and professional school- said István Fábián, Rector.

The qualification can be assigned to higher education institutions which offer multidisciplinary trainings and have scientific achievements which have major role in realization of the nation’s strategic objectives, moreover, they are able to progress significantly in international rankings, and is taking part in international mobility on a large scale.

The three universities may bare the rank of National Excellence between 2013- 2016.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *